Goa Tower Run

Take the Stairs!

header photo

Goa Tower Run, Gera's Imperium II, Panaji, Goa

Sun 28 Jan 2018, Gera's Imperium II, EDC's Patto Plaza, Panaji, Goa

840 steps up, 840 steps down; India’s longest

Fire Services, Zantye College win Linc Tower Run, Goa 2018

PANAJI, 28 JANUARY: The Directorate of Fire Services bagged the Linc Properties Trophy for top Corporate Team at the Linc Tower Run, Goa 2018, held at Patto Plaza, Panaji, today. Zantye College, Bicholim, won the Linc Student Trophy for top College Team. But the team that stole the show was the Navymen's INS Mandovi 2, which won the Open Team category, covering 840 steps up and 840 steps down in a record time of 8 minutes 16 seconds.

Devraj and Pooja Malgaonkar were the winners of the Open category, while Vishwanath Shetye won in the Veteran (45+) category. Kunal Prakash and Siddhi Bhat were the winners in the Student (18-) category. Carmel College, Nuvem, bagged the prize for fastest All-Women's Team.

Over 120 individual runners and 45 teams of five runners each participated in the event, organised by adventure sports outfit Adventure Breaks. The races were flagged off by Guest of Honour Rajesh Dempo. The Chief Guest was the Commandant of the War College at INS Mandovi, Rear Admiral Sandeep Beecha.

Prizes were distributed by Bhakti and Rajesh Dempo,  Meenakshi and Rear Admiral Sandeep Beecha, and Linc Properties CMD Prakash Jalan. Speaking on the occasion, RAdm Beecha said that the event shows that the very symbols of urbanisation — high rise buildings — can be used as tools to improve health.

Styled as 'A Fusion of Sport and Art', the event included a Zumba performance by Sheryl Vaz and the Studio Divas, a warm-up session by Norbert's Fitness Studio, martial arts demos by Rahim (Kick Boxing) and Krav Maga, Goa. A Yoga demo was conducted by Traya Wellness Centre, and a Nutrition Quiz by Diet Clinic. PSI Pawar of the Goa Police Anti-Terrorist Squad (ATS) gave a short presentation on what to do in case of a terrorist attack.

ProByk showcased cycling as a healthy sport, while Adventure Breaks had a stall promoting Rock Climbing. Apart from healthy activities, there were healthy foods. Frugurt handed out cups of their fruit yoghurts, while Krazy Kats sold healthy wraps, Aunty Catarina's offered fruit smoothies.



Fredsan, Aditi, Fire Services win Linc Tower Run 2016

PANAJI: Fredsan Marshall and Aditi Rajesh Patil grabbed individual honours in the men’s and women’s category respectively, while Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services emerged as the top corporate team at the Linc Tower Run, Goa 2016 held at EDC’s Patto Plaza on Sunday 31 January 2016. Other prize winners included Narayan Zantye College (top student team) and Vishwanath Shetye and Group (top group), while Suman Gosawi and Suraj Bind were winners in women’s and men’s categories in the Vertical Sprint (One Building Only). The event was organized by CII, Yi and Adventure Breaks.

The event was flagged off by FC Goa football stars Laxman Kattimani and Romeo Fernandes, in the presence of Linc Properties CEO Prakash Jalan, CII Goa Chairman Parag Joshi and Yi Goa Chair Nitin Desai. Altogether 450 participants ran 840 steps up and 840 steps down across five buildings, competing in three events and bagging prizes in seven categories.

EDC’s Patto plaza had a festival atmosphere with a focus on health, as each race was interspersed by performances. Tito’s gave every participant a free T-shirt. Talwalkar’s HiFi led a warm-up exercise session, while Cheryl’s Zumba dance exercise troupe and a Krau Maga self defence techniques demonstration were held. Diet Clinic held a health quiz. Ambrosia Health Foods gave the participants free healthy breakfasts, while healthy juices were sold at moderate prices. Monginis gave free snacks to each participant, while Real gave them soft drinks and water. Manipal Hospitals was the medical partner, keeping two ambulances on standby at the venue and a team of doctors and para-medics on alert during the event.

Winners got medals and cash prizes. Detailed results:

Individual Men: (1) Fredsan Marshall (8:23), (2) Suraj Bind (9:38), (3) Krishna Parsenkar (10:08). Individual Women: Aditi Patil (12:51), (2) Parnika Bansode (13:10), Siddhi Pawar (13:40). Veteran Men: (1) Kanhaiya Vernekar (11:52), (2) Vishwanath Shetye (12:15), (3) Sanjay Bhosale (12:44). Veteran Women: (1) Alexandra Von Moltke (14:52), (2) Geeta Anand (17:49). Student Boys: (1) Shivam Borkar (10:22), (2) Venkatesh Malagimani (10:42), (3) Amardeep Popkar (11:07). Student Girls: (1) Suman Gosawi (16:32), (2) Tanvi Shetye (20:57), (3) Harleen Kaur (22:19). Corporate Teams: (1) Directorate of Fire & Emergency Services (9:46), (2) GKB Vision Ltd (9:51), (3) Mandovi Drydocks (10:18). Group Teams: (1) Vishwanath Shetye & Team (8:50), (2) Shambhu Kamat & Team (11:06), (3) Law Warriors (11:30). College Teams: (1) Narayan Zantye College (7:12), (2) Austin Siji & Team (7:52), Govt College, Quepem (9:00). Vertical Sprint Men: (1) Suraj Bind (2:01), (2) Gauresh Gaude (2:04), (3) Prasad Gudekar (2:08). Vertical Sprint Women: (1) Suman Gosavi (2:38), (2) Alexandra Von Moltke (2:46), (3) Geeta Anand (2:48).